top of page
Neuroethics Student Championship 2022.png

Neuroethics Student Championship

• interdisciplinary debate competition •

November 19th, 2022

On November 19th, 2022, Simply Neuroscience invited 32 high school and college students to compete live for the title of "Neuroethics Student Champion" as well as monetary scholarships and a travel stipend to the IBRO World Congress in 2023. Students explored and discussed diverse neuroethics themes related to philosophy, law, consciousness, AI, public education, mental health, and more.

Additionally, we invited four experts in the field (Drs. L. Syd M Johnson, Francis X. Shen, Gillian Hue, and Jayashree Dasgupta) for a live speaker panel and audience Q&A.


The Neuroethics Student Championship was made possible with the generous support of the International Brain Research Organization.

Schedule for November 19th

 **Note: Times are in Eastern Time (ET)**

8:00 am

9:00 am

10:00 am

11:00 am

12:00 pm

1:00 pm

2:00 pm

3:00 pm

First half of Round 1 (8 matches)

Guest speaker panel

Second half of Round 1 (8 matches)

Round 2 (8 matches)

Round 3 (4 matches)

Round 4 (2 matches)

Round 5 (3rd and 4th place match)

Round 6 (1st and 2nd place match)


Meet Our Speakers

Judges and Volunteers

• Judges •

SN Zoom Background 1.png

Ruth Naomi Manuel

PhD Student in Neuroscience at Universiti Putra Malaysia


John Oyem

PhD Fellow at UiT The Arctic University of Norway


Fatemeh Seyfzadehdarabad

M.Sc. in Psychology Graduate from Shahid Beheshti University

Luis Zambrano

Social Care Worker at Glasgow University


Soumilee Chaudhuri

PhD Student in Medical Neuroscience at Indiana University School of Medicine

SN Zoom Background 1.png
SN Zoom Background 1.png

Simone Mohite

PhD Student at the University of Miami


Tanya Sharma

Panjab University


Nadeshka J. Ramirez-Perez

Founder and Director of Neuropsicología PR


Jhillika Trisal

Student at Shoolini University


Laura Elin Pigott

Lecturer of Neurosciences at London South Bank University


Genevieve Hunn

Laboratory Science Professional at University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus

SN Zoom Background 1.png

Aditi Tarkar

Medical Assist at Norton Healthcare

110921_Cunningham_045 copy.jpg

Anna Ivanova

Postdoctoral Associate at Massachusetts Institute of Technology

SN Zoom Background 1.png

Xavier Roberts-Gaal

PhD Student at Harvard University


Alexandria Pabst

Research Scientist at Accenture


Onyeka Okafor

PhD Candidate at College of Medicine at University of Lagos

SN Zoom Background 1.png

Olivia Morris

Research Coordinator at Baylor College of Medicine

SN Zoom Background 1.png

Thao Le

MD-PhD Student at Vanderbilt University School of Medicine

• Logistics and Organizing Volunteers •

SN Zoom Background 1.png
SN Zoom Background 1.png
SN Zoom Background 1.png
SN Zoom Background 1.png
SN Zoom Background 1.png

Delisha Doppa

Simon Jiang

Aditya Singhvi

Gracious Mhlanga

Soumyadeep Talukdar

Ria Kamat.jpg
Vishnu Kadaba.jpeg
Chinmayi Balusu Headshot.JPG
Sasha Tunsiricharoengul.jpg
Inchara A U Athreya.jpeg

Ria Kamat

Vishnu Swarup Kadaba

Chinmayi Balusu

Sasha Tunsiricharoengul

Inchara Athreya

bottom of page